Leg Day | Gosport Golden Mile and 5K

Yesterday I took part in my first running event for a couple of months and it was very different to one I have taken part in before- also one I have been excited to try out for about a year. The day started with a mile, followed by a 5k. I was excited because the shortest distance I’ve run at an event in the last year has been a 10k so I thought it would be a nice change and I was also very aware I wanted to be fast.

B.jpg

GGM

GGMM.jpg

I really enjoyed the mile- I didn’t want to push it too hard because I knew I wanted to push harder in the 5k but I’m happy with the 7:29 mile I did! I can’t wait to do it again next year and hopefully do sub 7!

The mile was a straight route from one end of Stokes Bay to the other. I took the first half easier and then tried to sprint the last 0.5, ending the mile with a battle against another runner. It reminded me of cross country at junior school and it felt awesome. Despite it not being a PB (in terms of runs I do outside of events), it felt like a strong mile!

GGGM

As much as I enjoyed mile one and mile three of the 5k, mile two was terrifying. It was a mile of running across shingle- I only run on the beach when I really have to and it’ll be for less than 0.1 of a mile and so one mile worth was torturous. Although I really wanted to get home to watch an episode of Suits so I did step it up a level in the final sprint.

GGGMM

The race had an awesome atmosphere-especially lovely to see so many kids because they could take part too. The marshals were brilliant which was definitely needed because it was a muggy morning. It’s been a while since I’ve had an event on a muggy day (last October: Great South Run) and I think I must have really progressed since then because even though it did make for uncomfortable conditions, I do feel like my body dealt with it better than it once would have.

Since I am not opposed to races that end with a medal, I was particularly chuffed to add two more to my collection after yesterday and can’t wait to return next year.

~ Kat ~

16 thoughts on “Leg Day | Gosport Golden Mile and 5K

  1. Karmughil Vannan says:

    That should be really really great to get that feeling after finishing the race. Love seeing and reading the experiences of runners like you and get myself motivated is just wonderful. 5k miles? Wow! Incredible!!

    Love reading your experiences. Looking forward to read more of yours.

    Regards,
    Karmughil

    Like

      • Karmughil Vannan says:

        You’re welcome! What do you eat prior and after such a long run? What’s the time interval? I do some weekends run of 3km and I’m finding it really tiring to complete even 5km at a stretch. What would you suggest for me? Looking forward to get some strategic stuffs for the run from good runners like you. But I’m highly motivated to run until I die.

        Like

      • Binging on Beetroot says:

        I am actually currently writing a post about what I ate the day before this particular run and will be writing more about what I eat on the day and afterwards so if you wanted to check that out when I post it tomorrow you totally can- I’d love to hear what you think and any advice you have!

        I know people’s bodies work in completely different ways but I cannot run without food in my system… at all! Porridge with berries followed by a banana is what I would eat if I was running between ten and twelve. If I run earlier I’d have a banana/some kind of fruit. What kind of time are you likely to run? Or does it change?

        After running I am always super hungry so will need something really quick and I probably will pick up a banana again. When I am really focusing on what I am eating I will cut up a baking potato into wedges and cook those into healthier chips and have a hard boiled egg with it!

        πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

      • Karmughil Vannan says:

        Thanks a lot for taking time and giving such good and detailed tips. I will try these stuffs this weekend with high precision. πŸ™‚ I usually have lunch around 1.30 pm and will run without having anything after that around 5.30 in the evening. So I try real hard for even 3 km at a stretch. 5.30 evening is my usual time for the run.

        Like

      • Binging on Beetroot says:

        That is more than okay! Sorry for not covering anything about lunch- I’d personally have maybe a chicken and spinach sandwich if I have the time to cook up chicken. And then some kind of snack with lunch. What will you have? πŸ™‚

        Like

      • Karmughil Vannan says:

        That’s okay. No sorries! Chicken sounds great for the lunch. I usually have a typical Indian weekend lunch like Rice with Fish/Chicken Curry and an Egg Omelette. And some more rice with curd. That’s it. But sometimes it gets real heavy and results in belly bloating πŸ˜‰ πŸ™‚

        Like

Leave a Reply

