My Week | Great South Run Training

Despite having a few events booked in – a couple being before the Great South – my main fitness drive right now is for the Great South. I am running it in order to raise money, essentially, for Lewis, my pal who suffered from a brain haemorrhage earlier this year. A massive part of my training involves lots of varied exercise. Fitness relies on doing lots of different training. I thought it’d be fun to document how I’m training specifically for the Great South on the blog- here is what my workout week looked like last week!

exercise.jpg

Last week was far too lovely not to exercise loads outside!


MONDAY (leg day)

  • 3.6 mile run to the gym
  • 10 minute cycle on cycling machine
  • Leg press: 1 x 90; 1 x 100; 1 x 110; 1 x 120
  • 3 x 12 exercise ball squats against the wall
  • 1 minute 30 seconds ski sit
  • 4kg kettlebells: 3 x 10 lunges (5 on each leg)
  • 4 kg kettlebells: 3 x 20 tippy-toe walk (so professional)
  • 2.4 mile run back from the gym
  • 1 hour of Zumba (which included a floor workout and a squat routine- OUCH!)

TUESDAY = rest day

WEDNESDAY (arm day)

  • Seated row: 1 x 15; 1 x 20; 1 x 25
  • Functional trainer: 2 x 3.75; 1 x 5 triceps (cannot find the official name for it anywhere)
  • Functional trainer: 2 x 3.75; 1 x 5 triceps pull
  • Functional trainer: 2 x 3.75; 1 x 5 over head extension
  • 4 kg hand weights in each hand: 3 x 12
  • Shoulder press: 1 x 15; 1 x 20; 1 x 25
  • Lat pulldown machine (fists faced forward): 1 x 15; 1 x 20; 1 x 25*
  • Lat pulldown machine (fists faced backward): 1 x 15; 1 x 20; 1 x 25*
  • 500m rowing machine
  • 10 minutes on cross trainer

* Lat pulldown machine does target the back and not the arms however I love the machine and don’t currently have a day to just target the back! I’ll normally do chest press on this day too- but the machine was being used for the whole time I was there on this day!

THURSDAY (leg day ERRRRYDAY… well, two or three times a week)

  • 10 minute cycle on the machine of cycling
  • Leg press: 1 x (12) 70; 1 x (12) 80; 1 x (12) 90; 1 x (12) 100 (legs were a bit weaker today so tried not to push it too much on the leg press)
  • 4 x 12 exercise ball squats against the wall
  • 2 x 1 minute ski sit
  • 4kg kettlebells: 4 x 10 lunges (5 on each leg)
  • 4 kg kettlebells: 4 x 20 tippy-toe walk
  • 5 mile run (hot hot hot HOT)

FRIDAY (arm day)

  • 1.2 mile run to the gym
  • Chest press: (1 x)  12 x 3.5 kg; (2x) 12 x 5kg
  • Shoulder press: (1 x) 12 x 10; (2 x) q0 x 15
  • 4kg handweights in each hand: (3 x) 12 x 4kg
  • Low row: 12 x 20; 12 x 25; 12 x 30; 12 x 35
  • Functional trainer: 2 x 3.75; 1 x 5 triceps (cannot find the official name for it anywhere)
  • Functional trainer: 2 x 3.75; 1 x 5 triceps pull
  • Functional trainer: 2 x 3.75; 1 x 5 over head extension
  • Lat pulldown machine (fists faced forward): 1 x 15; 1 x 20; 1 x 25
  • Lat pulldown machine (fists faced backward): 1 x 15; 1 x 20; 1 x 25
  • 1.1 mile run back from the gym
  • 1 hour of badminton
  • Altogether: 2 hours of walking

SATURDAY (cardio)

  • F-AB-ulous session (in the next week a link will appear to explain the terribly named “session”)

SUNDAY (all body)

  • Badminton
  • 1 hour of walking
  • 5.5 mile run

Most of my workouts last week took place early doors because I adore getting most or all of what I want to do done in the morning so I don’t need to stress about when it needs to get done. It also means sweating out stress and being completely ready for a cheesily positive day. Which is always a massive bonus.  I didn’t manage to fit in swimming and tennis despite plans to and due to rain my 10 mile run had to be abandoned midway through but I will be doing all of these things this week!

Writing down everything I have been up to has been super helpful- it’s something I want to keep doing, whether I blog about it or not. It was a tiring week of exercise that, thankfully didn’t catch up with me until Saturday morning when I was supposed to get up for a run. Instead I felt how desperately I needed an extra hour of sleep and slept away- saving a little run for the evening! When you need a rest, you need a rest. I also would have spaced my running out a bit more (and run at least one more time) had I not been recovering from a cold but, once again, you gotta do what you gotta do. I don’t think I’ve written this up very well because gym measurements have confused me a bit this week- and I was confused even more upon reading up on it.

This week has reinforced, however, how different my gym at home is in comparison to university. For reasons I don’t quite understand I am capable of higher weights on the resistance machines at my gym in Cardiff- this was confirmed when there was a month when I was at both gyms and I was doing so much more in Cardiff. Although of course I understand that I probably am not doing any more or less in any one place and it’s all machine-dependent (I have no idea!). It is one reason why I am super excited to get back to university because I felt like progression was move visible in terms of progressing literally on the machines. However I have seen my body change this summer so whatever is confusing here here can’t be that bad!

AIMS

  • Keep slowly progressing at the gym at home (this wasn’t a week for progressing on the machines since I started the week a little under the weather)
  • Try out classes at the gym a few times before I return to Cardiff
  • Swim and play tennis
  • Keep up swimming and tennis from now on

~ Kat ~

One thought on “My Week | Great South Run Training

Leave a Reply

