The Chocolate for Breakfast Recipe

Parents across the globe may scream, cover their eyes and hold their kids closely when one might insist that chocolate for breakfast really can be totally healthily. Since making up my chocolate smoothie recipe I have realised it is a bit bitter for some people to consider it indulgent. And so I pretended to be a professional food human and kept trying to make a new, creamy and chocolatey smoothie that tastes far too yummy to be healthy but perfect for a morning breakfast… or a daytime snack!

CHOCCCO.jpg


Ingredients | For one with chocolate-tinted glasses

  • 1.5 frozen bananas
  • 100g frozen raspberries
  • 2 x Medjool dates
  • 1.5tbsp raw cacao powder
  • 1tbsp almond butter
  • 1tsp honey
  • 1 dollop of low fat Greek yogurt
  • 100ml almond milk
  • 20ml coconut water
  • Toppings I love include extra fruit, seeds, goji berries and cacao nibs!

Method

1. After removing the seeds from the Medjool dates, chuck it all into your smoothie maker and blend until everything is mashed in together, producing a super creamy texture

2. Top with extra crunch and fruit to make for a breakfast that feels really quite indulgent


I like messing around with this recipe, adding more or less of certain ingredients and adding different fruits inside- blackberries are a winner! After a few weeks of have a smoothie most days at university, I’ve slipped out of the routine but I’m going to get back into it once I’m back from my reading week. Something like this is probably what I need when I’m doing coursework and suddenly get distracted by the want for a slice of cake!

~ Kat ~

 

10 thoughts on “The Chocolate for Breakfast Recipe

Leave a Reply

