Gift Guide: Three Books | 21 in Feb

I am known to make my birthdays last far too long and, in turn, insisting on far too many celebrations. And so I thought I’d bring this completely self-centred quality to my blog. I turn 21 this month- in eight days! Therefore, naturally, I have decided to blog 21 times this month. Eek. *Hides under covers.* So in the spirit of birthdays and all things jolly, I have compiled a mini gift guide of three books so many people would adore as a present.

IMG_0190.JPGThe Book Thief by Markus Zusak. This story is one I believe everyone should read, would benefit from and, no doubt, enjoy. Narrated by death, the reader is taught about Nazi Germany and its dire consequences for Jews. Liesel’s foster family take in Max, a Jew, in need of help. Liesel’s innocence makes the conditions all the more heartbreaking, but her understanding makes for an even more poignant story. With its plethora of hard-hitting, honest messages, The Book Thief teaches the importance of books, kindness and is another novel that encourages the world to not let this happen again (a book that should evidently be on Trump’s to be read list). I think The Book Thief is perfect as a gift as it has the power to draw any person in, and with its unique voice, encourage you to fall in love with it like I did. It’s hard for it not to be anyone’s favourite book.

Stolen by Lucy Christopher. Stolen simply put me on edge for the few days I read it in. And I liked it. A lot, a lot. It’s the story of Gemma, a 16 year old, who is kidnapped by Ty and taken to the Australian Outback. Intensely intense (THAT intense), Gemma is sometimes frightened and sometimes not. Obsession versus love is the central conflicting factors to the story and the main reason Stolen is so gripping. I adored that it’s written it letter form- it made the book even more unique. Stolen is another one of my favourite books. I would buy it for so many as it presents a scarily real representation of love that creates discussion which might even leave the reader feeling conflicted (although I personally never did).

The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern. One of the most beautifully written books I have ever read, The Night Circus is a brilliant gift. Being a lover of words, this stunningly worded story matches its magical brilliance the characters portray. I find The Night Circus difficult to explain, probably because I fear ruining anything. The story captures all things magic, love and mystery. I did give my brother this book for Christmas a few years ago and he loved it too. It’s hard not to be pulled into the spell of this story and become entranced with the words, characters and magic.

What book do you think would make a perfect gift?

~ Kat ~

2 thoughts on “Gift Guide: Three Books | 21 in Feb

Leave a Reply

