Spicy Tomato Prawn Pasta | 21 in Feb

One of my favourite dishes to order at a restaurant or on holiday is some kind of seafood pasta. I’ve started making a version of the prawn pasta dishes I order which doesn’t take long at all, is ridiculously easy and is so super cheap! Despite it being very basic, the first time I made it I felt so smug, especially remembering how any pasta dish I’d have had three years ago would have been pasta plus a stir in sauce!

IMG_0547.JPG


Ingredients | For one student wishing they could afford a meal out

  • 120g whole weat pasta
  • 60g of pre-cooked and peeled king prawns
  • 1 pepper
  • 7 cherry tomatoes
  • Several handfuls of spinach
  • 1 ball of mozzarella
  • 1 clove of garlic crushed
  • 1/2 chilli (mine are super spicy so adjust this to whatever chillies you have!)
  • A few sprinkles of pink Himalayan salt
  • A sprinkle of black pepper
  • 1 tablespoon of honey
  • 1/4 of a carton of tomato passata
  • 2 teaspoons of tomato puree
  • 1 vegetable stock cube (in 150ml boiling water)
  • 2 teaspoons of coconut oil

Method

  1. Boil the kettle with enough water for the pasta and heat a pan on high with the coconut oil. Add the crushed garlic and chilli
  2. Dice the pepper, cut the tomatoes in half and add them both to the pan (stirring often)
  3. Cook the pasta for 12-15 minutes
  4. Pour in the passata, vegetable stock cube water and squeeze in the puree
  5. Season next: salt; pepper; honey. Bring down the heat
  6. Stir in the prawns
  7. Tear the mozarella bowl and place it in the bowl
  8. Drain the pasta once it’s cooked and place in the bowl before stirring in the tomato sauce, veg and prawns
  9. Wollahhhh!

I recently fell out of love with pasta- which I wasn’t necessarily seeing as a bad thing as it’s easy to consume a smidge too much pasta. However this creation has meant I’ve wanted pasta every day. I have managed to restrain myself but I look forward to the day each week I make up this attempt at a restaurant-at-home meal!

~ Kat ~

P.S. 14/21

3 thoughts on “Spicy Tomato Prawn Pasta | 21 in Feb

Leave a Reply

