Water Yourself | 21 in Feb

Of course the constant trips to the bathroom aren’t so elegant, but the advantages to drinking lots of water really are. We find so many excuses not to drink a sufficient amount of water despite the fact we are so lucky to have it at our fingertips. We should be drinking two litres of water a day and often we aren’t even close to this amount. Considering it’s so easy to follow this rule, I think it’s something we should all condition ourselves into doing.

IMG_0574.JPGI’ve recently discovered something as simple as this pretty and big mason jar gets me consuming the amount of water I need each day. It’s the first thing I reach for when I’m hungry (and know I shouldn’t be) or tired. A lot of the time it’s our bodies telling us we’re dehydrated and after a sip or two I’ll realise our bodies really do know what they’re talking about. Clever things, really. I recommend if a mason jar like this will catch your eye, remind you to drink and get you excited to drink (I’m aware I’m using techniques children benefit from!), buy one- they can be as cheap as £1!

When I’m hydrated my body is happy and thankful (the best metaphor to feel). When I’m not I’m sluggish, unmotivated and dissatisfied. I physically feel the difference in digestion when I’ve been drinking water and when I haven’t. We can often assume we are drinking enough but I do think it’s an important thing to keep track of whether that be mentally or noted down. That way we can’t kick ourselves when evening rolls about and we are on the sofa with a headache! “I didn’t drink enough water,” is the utterance that rolls off of our tongues before we head into our next dehydrated day.

Tips for drinking up:

  • Find a green tea or fruit tea you adore- you’ll drink lots of water without it even feeling like it
  • Pop some lemon, lime or anything similar into your water to make it that little bit more tasty
  • Wake up to some form of water (whether that be a nice cold glass of water or warm water with honey and lemon). I find it’s when my body adores water the most since I’ve had eight hours with no fluids at all
  • Leave notes on items you’ll be using throughout the day (such as your laptop/diary/recipe book) to remind yourself to keep sipping away
  • Remind yourself of the benefits of drinking water
  • Carry a bottle of water with you everywhere you go. This way there’s no need to pick up anything full of sugar or just simply not as beneficial as the good ol’ fashioned see through stuff
  • Be zen and think of yourself as a plant- we need watering too!

The benefits of water are plentiful. What are your tips for keeping hydrated?

~ Kat ~

P.S. 16/21

2 thoughts on “Water Yourself | 21 in Feb

  1. Mackenzie says:

    This is so so good! I think drinking enough water and staying hydrated is one of the most overlooked essential parts of being healthy!!!!! I would argue it’s one of THE if not THE most important! Great post, girlfriend!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

