Cardiff Bay | The Last Four Months

Last Saturday my mum came up to visit me in Cardiff. Conveniently we chose the day before Mother’s Day and so I got to spend some quality time with my favourite person when I wouldn’t have seen her otherwise. We actually picked the date because it was part of my mum’s birthday present I gave her last year. As part of the 50 things I challenged her to do this last year, I told her she must visit me in Cardiff, go to Cardiff Bay for lunch and buy some Welsh cakes! Realistically – and terrifyingly – I actually have one more week of lectures left and three more deadlines. Therefore I am one week and three deadlines away from adulthood. Proper adulthood. Last Saturday with my mum allowed me to soak in Cardiff in the best way before I wave goodbye in a few months.

IMG_1154.JPGBefore mum and I headed to Cardiff Bay for the afternoon, I wanted her to visit my favourite Place to Be Mindful in the whole world: Roath Park. Another of her challenges is to take an artsy fartsy photograph so I let her loose with my camera. As Roath Park is one of the most aesthetically pleasing places I’ve been to, I thought my mum could create quite the photograph. And she definitely did (I’ll link her post about it when it’s up!). More importantly, we both had a blackcurrant and clotted cream ice-cream which further made me itch for summer.

We soon realised we were in for a day that would tease us about the warmer days that will surprise us in a few months. We hopped on a train for a quick ride to Cardiff Bay and I was delighted to finally be in there on a warm and blue day- in the past, I only seem to have gone in drizzly grey weather. We first went to Bill’s for a pub lunch before we got mum another tick in her book of fun [book that causes her frequent moments of panic where she believes she’ll let me down- I’m the worst daughter]. Mum bought herself some white chocolate and blueberry – my recommendation – Welsh cakes before we wandered around trying to take the perfect selfie (my fault, again).

We headed back to the centre of Cardiff, did a bit of shopping (she completed another challenge- to spontaneously buy a physical copy of an album) before ending up at Treetop Adventure Golf. As per usual, it was oodles of fun. And then, not as per usual, I won a free round at the end… And so did my mum! We found – and find, still, a week on – this particularly amusing.

As my time in Cardiff is drawing to a close, I’m finding every opportunity to get overly sentimental about the place that I can. Every time I run around Roath or Bute Park, walk through Cathays as the sun sets and sit in my favourite cafe taking in the city, I feel like I’m saying a little, happy goodbye. (Because it isn’t quite goodbye yet.) You can find my last post about Cardiff here: Bute Park | The Last Five Months.

~ Kat ~

P.S. Check out my mum’s post about our day HERE! ❤

2 thoughts on “Cardiff Bay | The Last Four Months

  1. Danielle says:

    I totally get you. I only have a week left of lectures in Edinburgh and I’m getting so sentimental about it! Now that my dissertation is finished, I’m spending all of my time running around visiting my favourite places before I leave! xx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

