Vegetarian Sausage and Mash | BEDIM

Today marks a week of a month’s challenge (that will hopefully become a lifetime habit) of restricting my meat consumption. After realising my dependency upon meat spanned for at least 2 meals a day I thought I should probably do something about it. In the last week I’ve loved changing up my meals and the challenge that comes with the eating less meat (I realise now how segregated those are who aren’t meat-eaters when it comes to choice in shops!). Today I messed around with some ingredients and made myself a super healthy and yummy vegetarian sausage and mash… and here’s the recipe!

IMG_1603


Ingredients | For one procrastinating student

  • 2 vegetarian sausages of your choice (I used Linda McCartney’s!)
  • A splash/couple of teaspoons of coconut oil
  • 1/2 chilli (or your level of chilli-ness!)
  • 4 tomatoes
  • 1/2 pepper
  • 1 handful of spinach
  • 125g passata
  • 1 tablespoon tomato puree
  • 1 vegetable stock cube mixed with hot water (to taste in terms of thickness!)
  • Sprinkle or two of pink Himilayan salts
  • 1 medium sweet potato
  • 1/2 red onion
  • 1 teaspoon garlic granules
  • A dash (so accurate- forgot to measure!) milk of your choice (would normally use almond but used skimmed!)

Method

  1. Prep the veg and potato and pre-heat the oven to the heat the sausages require. Peel (where necessary) and dice the veg and peel the potato before slicing off the ends and cutting into rough chunks. Boil the kettle with enough water to cover the potato
  2. Pop the potato and onion into a small saucepan and line a tray before popping on the sausages. Cover the potato and onion with the water and boil before popping the sausages into the oven. Set a timer for 15 minutes (for Linda McCartney sausages!)
  3. Heat a pan with the oil before adding the remaining veg; stir occasionally until the veg looks cooked and yummy
  4. Add in the passata, puree and add the vegetable stock cube that’s been mixed into hot water to taste. Season with salt!
  5. Simmer simmer simmer
  6. When the timer beeps, turn the heat off of the potato and add the garlic granules and (gradually add the) milk before mashing away
  7. Slice the sausages (the reason will become clear in step 8)
  8. Serve the mash, pop the sausages in (to make it look like a hedgehog like my mum used to) and pour over the sauce!

Society loves siding with meat-eaters even though we have a lot to learn from the lifestyles that omit meat! I really quite easily have developed the habit of not relying on meat as much and have still felt fulfilled in the days where I’ve eaten none at all. This is definitely a meal I will be having again and again, and I’m looking forward to discovering what other vegetarian dishes become a firm favourite.

~ Kat ~

P.S. Yesterday’s post was all about my favourite green teas (captivating, I know).

Leave a Reply

