Vegetarian Bolognese | BEDIM

In limiting my meat consumption this month, I have been experimenting a lot with dishes and also vegetarian meat substitutions. I wanted to try out Quorn and since I love bolognese and chilli but am avoiding meat-based versions, I tried out its version of mince. As I wasn’t sure whether I would be put off by the difference in taste (spoiler: it was yummy!) I decided to add lots of different vegetables to make it super varied. It made for a delicious lunch to supplement my revision and I have an extra batch for tomorrow! Here’s how I made it!

IMG_1619.JPG


Ingredients | One for now (and one for later!)

  • A dash or so of coconut oil
  • 1 clove of garlic, peeled and finely chopped
  • 1 small red onion, peeled and diced
  • 4 tomatoes, diced
  • 4 closed cup mushrooms, diced
  • A big handful of spinach
  • 4 florets of broccoli, chopped into tinier pieces
  • 200g chopped tomatoes
  • 1 tablespoon tomato puree
  • 1 vegetable stock cube mixed into hot water
  • 1/2 pepper, diced
  • 1 teaspoon oregano
  • A sprinkle of pepper
  • A couple of sprinkles of pink Himilayan salts
  • 75g Quorn mince
  • 140g wholewheat pasta (or 2 portions of spaghetti)

Method

  1. Prep the garlic and vegetables as above while steaming the broccoli for 4 minutes
  2. Heat a pan with coconut oil and fry off the garlic and red onion
  3. Add in the rest of the veg- including the broccoli once it’s ready
  4. Stir occasionally before adding the chopped tomatoes, puree, stock cube and all of the seasoning and heat for a few minutes
  5. Add in the Quorn, occasionally stirring. Cook for ten minutes
  6. Boil the kettle and cook the pasta once the Quorn has been cooking for 10 minutes
  7. Cover the bolognese while the pasta cooks
  8. Once boiled, serve the bolognese with the pasta, allowing the rest to cool to room temperature before popping it in the fridge to heat up the next day!

Bolognese is such a staple meal for a lot of people and I was excited to see what a veggie version would taste like. I plan on testing out veggie fajitas in the next week or so, since I have enjoyed every meal that has involved a meat substitute (my veggie sausage and mash recipe can be seen HERE!). What I have found particular interesting about my decision to cut down on meat consumption is that friends have wondered if I am planning on becoming a vegetarian (which I am not!). It’s funny how incorporating a little of another “category” of lifestyle suggests anything other than wanting to switch it up a bit and hopefully make a healthy change.

~ Kat ~

P.S. I am blogging every day this month and yesterday’s post was all about race day feelings!

2 thoughts on “Vegetarian Bolognese | BEDIM

Leave a Reply

