The Mini Cardiff City Guide | Part One | BEDIM

My official Cardiff university experience ended yesterday. Although I have a few more adventures planned, I sat my last ever exam in Cardiff yesterday afternoon. Wales greeted us with a soggy hug as we walked out of the examination hall and into a lot of puddles. It only made us laugh; it seemed like the most appropriate goodbye Cardiff could give us. Rainy Wales and all. Although I don’t know everything about the wonderful city, living in Cardiff has taught my a few things about where to go and what to see in Wales’ capital city. (See below.)

roathhhhhh.jpg

WHERE TO GO 

The parks are almost famous. My favourites are (I might have mentioned them a few times!) Bute and Roath Park, entirely different parks but equally as lovely. That I won’t be around the corner from them breaks my heart. Bute Parks is big, welcoming and always buzzing. Roath Park is quaint and yet outstanding; Cardiff’s stunning gem. I have some brilliant memories in both of the parks, and an awful lots of runs took place in them.

Cardiff Bay is Cardiff’s showpiece and only a short train journey from the centre or a fulfilling walk! With restaurants and bars inviting everybody to sit down and enjoy the atmosphere – rain or shine – it’s hard not to want to spend at least a few hours there. During the day it’s a perfect past time, if not only to have a wander and dip in and out of the little shops- definitely visit Fabulous Welshcakes to pick up a pack or five of their absolutely fabulous homemade delights! At nighttime, the Bay lights up whether it’s busy or quiet. It’s the perfect backdrop for a drink with a friend.

The shopping opportunities are endless in Cardiff City. Now with a new huge Lush I have not tested out yet (I shall be picking myself up a celebratory bath bomb on Tuesday) and every shop needed to satisfy any shopaholics’ needs, it’s easy to window shop or drop some serious dollar on a Saturday afternoon. And of course it’s accompanied by a range of restaurants to comfort your accidental splurge in Topshop (just me?).

FITNESS AND HEALTH

Cardiff’s Half Marathon is one I will never forget. I intend on signing up for this year’s run as soon as possible. The route is incredible; runners pass so many places that create the heart you feel in Cardiff. The buzz is incredible and, because of the intense hills, I felt just a bit proud when I crossed the finish line. A day I’ll never forget.

Parkrun in Cardiff is AWESOME. It’s held in Bute Park and in comparison to my home’s Parkrun, it is a massive Saturday morning running party. When visiting Cardiff for a few days, a run in Bute Park would definitely suffice. However, the Parkrun really is fabulous. There are runners EVERYWHERE egging you on, just for a morning jog or a far from pressured shot at a personal best.

Fresh fruit is dotted about in Cardiff city. And it’s delicious. I definitely didn’t take advantage of the stalls that sell strawberries for a pound and whatever else. When I have had a little look and picked up some fruit, it’s been delicious!

TO PASS THE TIME

Bowling at Superbowl is how I’ve spent a fair few of my Monday nights. It’s a pound a round for students and TOO much fun. Although I am very competitive I don’t care whether I’m having a good night or a bad night at Superbowl. Cheap and cheerful always wins the race! However, do book in advance because you can be left disappointed!

Lazerquest at Superbowl is my second favourite thing. I have only been once but really want to find them time to go before my final trip to Cardiff this summer. I would play every day I could. I was against Aaron and my friend Tarryn and I had to shoot them down (with our lazer guns) and it was hilarious. And weirdly terrifying. There was a lot of screaming.

Treetop adventure golf is something I’ve done far too many times this year. Located in St David’s, there is a brilliant jungle-themed crazy golf course. I still have a free go to use up and plan on doing so next week. I cannot get bored of the quirky course and I always end up having too much fun.

Cardiff has become a favourite place of mine but I know all of the above and more mean my experiences will be fondly stored in the old noggin. I will be writing a second part to this post very soon talking about all things food and drink! I have been blogging every day this month and yesterday’s post can be read HERE!

~ Kat ~

 

Leave a Reply

