Loaded Vegetarian Chilli Wedges | BEDIM

This month has seen me limiting my meat consumption after realising just how much I relied on it. I have enjoyed it so much and it has seemed to already become a welcomed habit. Today I wanted a filling and fulfilling lunch and decided I’d try to create a recipe for some loaded veggie wedges. And they were DELICIOUS. Since I’m a lover of red meat, I’m glad I’ve found a a way to eat these meals without always having to reach for pork mince. So I sat in the sun and ate a hearty lunch that you can see the recipe for below!

IMG_1677.JPG


Ingredients | For one on a Sunday afternoon

For the chips

  • 200g white potato
  • A bit of salt (pink Himilayan/sea salt) and pepper

For the chilli

  • 1/2 red onion, diced
  • 1/2 green pepper (or any pepper), diced
  • 4 cherry tomatoes, diced
  • 100g chopped tomatoes
  • 1 teaspoon tomato puree
  • 1 vegetable stock cube mixed into hot water
  • 1 teaspoon cumin
  • 1 teaspoon chilli powder (I used mild)
  • 1 teaspoon garlic granules
  • A sprinkle of pink Himilayan salts
  • A sprinkle of pepper
  • 50g Quorn mince
  • 1 cal oil spray
  • A drizzle or so of coconut oil

Method

  1. Cut the potatoes into wedge shapes while the kettle is boiling with enough water to cover them. Boil for 6 minutes
  2. While the potato is boiling, pre-heat the oven to gas mark 7 and line a tray with foil before spraying it with 1 cal oil spray. Prepare the veg
  3. After the 6 minutes, drain the potatoes and spread them onto the tray, adding a bit of salt and pepper and a couple more sprays of oil. Move them about before popping them in the oven for 20 minutes
  4. Heat oil in a pan and add the veg once heated
  5. Once the veg has been cooking for 2 or 3 minutes, add the chopped tomatoes, puree and vegetable stock. Stir and add the spices and salt and pepper
  6. After a few minutes, add in the Quorn and cook for 10 minutes
  7. Once the timer has gone for the chips, move them around add more oil if necessary and pop them back in for another 12 minutes
  8. Once the Quorn has been cooking for 10 minutes, turn the heat down
  9. Whenever the wedges are done (I find the time varies every time I make them- hopefully after 35ish minutes), plonk them on a plate and add the chilli!

I have written a couple of other veggie meal recipes this month already: bangers and mash and bolognese! I plan on trying veggie fajitas in the next week or so and I imagine they are going to taste super yum. I thought this experiment would be quite difficult for me since I’ve been known to have meat for breakfast, lunch and dinner, but the variation makes me even more excited to get into the kitchen.

~ Kat ~

P.S. I have been blogging every single day and my last post can be read HERE!

2 thoughts on “Loaded Vegetarian Chilli Wedges | BEDIM

Leave a Reply

