Why You Should Re-Read Harry Potter | BEDIM

A week or so ago I wrote a post about re-reading our childhood favourite books and this inspired me to pick up the first book of the Harry Potter series again. Despite the new covers being less familiar, the throwback to reading them as a child is comforting and exciting all at the same time. Not only is it the most magical series I will ever read, it will always (I have no doubt about this) be my favourite series of books. Although there are far too many amazing books to read, I believe we need to re-read our favourite books because they are guaranteed to make us feeling that kind of bookish happy nothing else can give you all over again.

IMG_1685.JPGJK Rowling does not fear bringing up important themes. I don’t even think I missed them when I was younger (which is why the series is so important) but they are super poignant now. The idea of taboo and the commentary that goes alongside it is super important. JK Rowling teaches us that we shouldn’t let fear control us. The other part of this series that is so brilliant to my adult eyes is feminism: Our favourite, Hermione Granger. Don’t get me wrong, there are so many noteworthy characters in these books but Hermione Granger taught me it was cool to be clever and to own it and she really does kick butt.

I’ve been reading this as if it were my first time taking in the story. And I’m kind of falling for it. I think it’s because I read these when I was SO young that I probably didn’t take in a lot of detail. We always want to read our favourite books for the first time again because we didn’t appreciate how lucky we were; what we were about to embark on. A lot of us were so young when we read this series that we can not only see the story in a different, more adult kind of way but we can literally read things we didn’t before!

This is a particular niche reason to re-read the Harry Potter series, but after years of making excuses, I am writing a book. It’s been a lifelong dream (after spending my days writing out silly stories on my big brick of a computer) and instead of feeling overwhelmed by my lack of direction, Harry Potter seemed the way forward. In reading my favourite books and stories that enchant me the most, I figured the kind of story I want to write might emerge.

The Harry Potter series is one that makes me feel warm and happy like being by a bonfire with a marshmallow on a stick in hand. Hogwarts is home, after all. Always.

~ Kat ~

P.S. I have been blogging every day this month and you can read my last post HERE!

3 thoughts on “Why You Should Re-Read Harry Potter | BEDIM

Leave a Reply

