One City, Two Feet | When in Rome

I am a big advocate for exploring a city by foot to maximise adventures, sightseeing and, of course, opportunities to sneak into a bar for a quick beverage. My city breaks to Dublin and Paris gave me this mentality ,and while Aaron and I walked lots in these cities, I learnt a lot about the benefits of touring by walking on my trip to Rome. We didn’t once touch public transport and although metros and trams are naturally brilliant, I adored giving my feet a hard time and seeing every beautiful Italian building I possibly could by doing so.

IMG_2594Every corner of Rome tells a story, whether that be a tiny tale or a grand series of events. History oozes out of the city and tourists are aware of the famous ground they are stood upon. Italy is on almost everyone’s bucket list and I know it occupied my number one spot since I was a child. My favourite food was pizza. It only made sense. Where else would I go? As I got older, enjoyed history and learning in general, Italy became an attractive bucket list bullet point for a million other reasons. I genuinely believe I wouldn’t have felt as adventure-fulfilled without the many blisters on my feet by the time the last evening rolled about.

The history of Rome is even popular among the youngest of children. Perhaps because of its colourful and very scary past, children tune in a little more forgiving of learning about what happened way before they were born. I remember learning about the Coliseum and its purpose long before I retained other historical facts. I think we are all interested in gladiators and chariot races and all of the whys, whens and whos. My forgotten love for history easily crept up on me when walking around, taking in even the smallest of details among those big things we were told about as kids. Learning is something I adore and by using my two feet all times in Rome, I realised I want to read a good few books about the history of Rome. I didn’t know enough about the brilliant sights that accompanied me on my wanders.

I think the sheer amount more you see by foot is priceless. My brother and I might not have visited and marvelled at the Altare dell Patria quite so many times; we might not have found my very favourite scoop of ice cream (pistachio- and I had pistachio on two occasions); we might not have had so many opportunities to bring out our Uno cards. To get the most out of just a few days in a city, the city demands respect. A lot of love in a short amount of time. And for that, two feet need to be at one with the city at all times.

I aim to run at every location I visit. However, due to luggage restrictions, I could not in Rome. Being someone who loves working out on holiday, this didn’t need to suck. And the over 100,000 steps we accumulated in two and a half days ensured this. Through walking, not only can you always be up close and personal with a city, you can see so many possible eating spots for “later” and make a well-informed (it’s an important part of the day!) decision about where you’re going to get your Italian carbs in! This is my last post in my seven day run of posts about my amazing trip to Rome. I am super grateful for the stupidly awesome birthday present but I am equally delighted to announce that the Uno championship we took part in (it’s less official than I made that sound) consisting of 127 games finished with one deserved winner. And that winner was me.

~ Kat ~

P.S. Yesterday I wrote about my favourite place in Rome.

Leave a Reply

