The Wimbledon Smoothie

After an epic women’s singles final yesterday, an awesome Brit win for the men’s wheelchair tennis and a brilliant final day for many of the players, I am so ready for the men’s final and the very Brit-packed doubles final today! I am heading to Cardiff this morning because of my graduation tomorrow and soon will be in a bar cuddling some Pimm’s while watching the Federer Vs. Cilic match. I’m beyond excited. And yet I’m gutted Wimbledon is to be over for another year. So, in order to wave off two of my favourite weeks, I thought I’d create a Wimbledon worthy smoothie recipe- most of its ingredients being essential for the perfect Pimm’s!

IMG_3097.JPG


Ingredients | For one already grieving Wimbledon

  • 1 banana, roughly chopped
  • 8 strawberries, de-stemmed and halved
  • 1/4 cucumber, diced
  • Juice of 1 lime
  • 150ml coconut water
  • A few splashes of water

Method

  1. Prep all the ingredients and pop them in your blender
  2. Whizz around until it’s as smooth as Federer’s tennis
  3. Serve!
  4. Enjoy as the match hits off!

The tournament has been something else this year. There have been a lot of upsets and injuries; a lot of amazing tennis to celebrate. I’ve been sad to see Konta (although she SMASHED it getting that far) and Murray (although it sucked to see him in so much pain) get knocked out but it’s still been an ace couple of weeks. Every single tour has been outstanding. I’ve stopped being a complete idiot and have dipped in and out of all tours, not just the men’s after realising I was accidentally being lazily sexist by being a bit less interested in the women’s tour. Those women are incredible. So I’m going to enjoy my smoothie and get myself to Cardiff to soak up the last few hours of my favourite tennis tournament.

~ Kat ~

Leave a Reply

