How to Actually Write a Book

Ever since I was nine years old Microsoft Word has been my best friend. I have been writing “the next best seller” for over twelve years, each fresh attempt at becoming an author bringing a story to the world that was my “best yet.” After a few weeks of being so in love with my new world, characters and words, I would hit a wall. The famous writer’s block strikes again. And a couple of hundred pages too soon, THE END was written; another idea unfinished and forgotten within a week. So many of us throw around the well-intended promise, “I’m going to write a book!” as we smugly smile. We say this, ignoring the fact that simply saying this doesn’t equate to getting the job done. Here’s how I’m approaching my next attempt book-writing adventure.

meThe To-Do List: I’ve started my very own new chapter and am holding myself accountable this time. I have a date set for when I must reach the finish line; I have a minimum amount of words I must write a day. So as not to tempt fate I won’t share The End Date (dum dum duuuum) with you but, I’ll share with you my Write Every Day World Limit. Five days a week will see me writing at least one hundred words. At least. I have an approximate end date for each quarter of the book and,n as organisation is my best friend, I’m feeling pretty pumped about it.

The Addition of Hygge: Lit candles, my favourite blanket and a cup of tea. I am hygge-ing up my writing process and I couldn’t recommend it more. Comfort is your biggest cheerleader when you’re writing what feels like the most illogical sentence ever written or finding the worst plot holes known to man. Hygge may just save the day when I inevitably experience the “I am so done with this” moment every writer writes for themselves. The End Day (dum dum duuuum) will only grant a big tick next to the task “write a book” if you enjoy the experience. Other ever-so-Hygge writing additions include:

  • Disney instrumental soundtrack
  • Fairy lights
  • Chocolate digestives
  • Cosy jumper
  • Pyjamas

Just Keep Writing, Writing, Writing: I have recently been given the advice to not go back and edit. This may just be the piece of advice that lands me my writer’s happily ever after. I have returned to the book idea I had and gave up on a few months ago. Looking back, I think I began feeling infuriated with this very idea because I was obsessed with checking over it. Editing the first chapter over and over again. This led to me feeling uninspired by the time I got to writing chapter two. I wrote chapter two and it sucked. End of story. I’ve turned a new page and have decided not to be such a perfectionist. While I will, once a month, have a cheeky edit, the main edit will be a task for after The End Day (dum dum duuuum).

What are your writing tips?

~ Kat ~

2 thoughts on “How to Actually Write a Book

Leave a Reply

